Here It Comes

October 4, 2009

I took a day off today, albeit inadvertently.

Some background:
1.) I go to church at Newtonards Methodist Church in East Belfast. It is essentially on the other side of town from Elms Village.
2.) Church starts at 11:30.

Since I am apparently incapable of setting an alarm correctly, today I woke up at 11:07 thinking, “I’ve been asleep for too long.”

Ordinarily I would have said, “Oh well, I’ll just miss church today.” But you need to know one more bit of background:
3.) I was asked to do the scripture reading during the service today.

Needless to say, continuing to sleep wasn’t really an option; so I jumped out of bed, threw on my clothes, grabbed my bike, and ran out the door. It has been a while since I have worked my cardio that hard.

I made it on time, but I noticed that it just took me forever to get my breath back. As the service progressed I starting getting a headache and felt like I had a fever. Granted that I wasn’t awake more than two minutes before I got on the bike, but I didn’t feel bad when I woke up.

As the day progressed I felt worse and worse, and finally at 8:30 I went to sleep in my jacket, flannel shirt, jeans, wool socks, and Mexican super blanket. I woke up at about 11:30, took a long shower, and am going to try to go back to sleep. Hopefully I will feel better in the morning. As near as I can figure out, while I was sucking in air racing across the city I inhaled something that my lungs don’t appreciate and they are punishing me for this now.

I hope you have all had good weekends.

Leave a Reply

