Neurosis Mayhaps?

October 25, 2009

It isn’t really a secret that I like to read theology books. Most people who know me also know that I really like to talk about God. That said, I still get weirded out when people gush about God. I don’t know what my deal is, but it just doesn’t resonate with my experience, and I think that “alien-ness” makes me feel uncomfortable. (Harriet will be glad that I paid attention to her sermon today.) Maybe I need to seek people who experience this more and talk to them, if for no other reason than to understand.

‘Cause right now it just gives me the heebies.

4 Responses to “Neurosis Mayhaps?”

  1. Bearss said

    Chris, It’s ok. I understand where you are at right now. In fact, I don’t really ever understand that because it seems so…fake to me… I don’t know. But whatever.

  2. Allegra said

    Speaking from personal experience, people who “gush about God” are insecure in their faith.

  3. Tyler said

    is it the emotional charge or the irrationality?

    question: what do you all think, how do our emotions/feelings relate to our faith and how does our reason relate to both? what are appropriate things to “gush” about? what are inappropriate? does context determine when and how we express these…?

    • christophermahlon said

      I guess what I was trying to say, Tyler, is that the whole, “If we just trust in God, because he is so good!, then we’ll be able to see his plans, and he’ll tell us what we need to know,” mentality is a very foreign one to me. It’s not the tradition I was raised in, and it just doesn’t speak at all to my experience of God. Because of that, I feel uncomfortable around people who do that. It feels weird to me, and that’s because I don’t relate to it at all.

      Just different ways of thinking about God, I guess, but it annoys me that sometimes because I don’t experience God in this way, I get condescended to by people who do. “Well, have you asked God?” Yeah, actually, did that. Didn’t hear anything, which is why I’m asking you. Do you see where I’m coming from?

Leave a Reply

