The Post-Grad Diet

October 30, 2009

This last month and a half has been pretty interesting as far as my eating habits are concerned. For the first couple of weeks I was functionally vegetarian, which was not near as bad as half of you are thinking. The simple fact of the matter is that meat is expensive, and I didn’t have any extra money. Like, none at all, so I had to be really careful with the money that I had brought with me from the US and make it go as far as possible. So I got to eat a lot of nuts, fruits, and vegetables.

Now that I’ve got a few extra pounds the menu is considerably less ascetic. When I make food for myself it tends to be a pasta with some vegetables or a sandwich. I eat oatmeal in the morning, too, which is delicious. Really. You get used to it. If I eat out, it is at Boojum or Common Grounds; yes, I’m a creature of habit.

Anecdotally, I feel pretty darn good; so maybe for the sake of the national health we should just put everyone in grad school on a limited budget and watch waistlines shrink… or something.

2 Responses to “The Post-Grad Diet”

  1. Katie said

    Ha! Yeah, my parents started this diet program so they no longer buy groceries for the whole house and we don’t really eat out anymore, so as a result I have recently lost about 11 pounds by living on soup and sandwiches. And so the mirror has been more friendly lately.

  2. Blaine said

    Even I have noticed that. I didn’t think I was an unhealthy eater at Northwestern but it turns out I kinda was. And I’ve also began to eat more fruits and vegetables merely because they are cheaper than meat. Meat seems to now be a luxury in my diet, and no longer a staple.

Leave a Reply

